Corporate bullying is killing her

A friend of mine has been driven to the edge of financial and health collapse by corporate bullying and overwhelming bureaucracy. She has been badly let let down by the very organisations that were set up to help people in her position, and I fear she may soon have a stroke or heart attack.

Business errors by one large organisation led to complications elsewhere that adversely affected her credit standing, cost her large amounts of money and blocked a new business. All through no fault if her own.

For more than a year she has battled to resolve the issue and restore her previous good credit rating. Her letters, emails and phone calls are largely ignored. The higher up the chain of command, the less interested they are in putting things right.

She has been dismissed by the organisations that have harmed her, offered insultingly small amounts of money as “compensation” in the hope that she will go away. However, the people representing the offending corporates have made no attempt to rectify the original errors, nor the damage they have done. They have briefed one person to lend a sympathetic ear … but no action, no proper compensation, and no access to the people with the power to put things right.

They don’t seem to care about the effect on one customer’s financial position, health or peace of mind. She turned to the Ombudsman service. What a joke! These are people who are paid to help us. But they have proven to be just process servers. They have been self-important and arrogant, speaking over my friend on the phone, not understanding the real problem because they have not read the file completely, even claiming that they had no need to do so.

Meanwhile my friend is at the end of her tether, unable to work properly, in tears at the bureaucracy that keeps blocking her, and desperate for resolution. Even her doctor has written a letter stating that the situation is seriously affecting her health. No one cares.

Is this a common experience? Is there some way of calling corporate bullies to task? Where can a person get help?

About phillipkp

I am a wordsmith. I work as a copywriter and trainer in communication skills. For eight years I was Senior Copywriter at Reader's Digest, London, then Creative Director of PKP Communications Limited, a Direct Marketing creative agency. My business background is in speciality selling and direct marketing. In public speaking I have won more titles than anyone in Europe, including UK Champion seven times, and World No.2. Got a speech or presentation to deliver, or a mailing to send out? I can help. Let's meet for copy.
This entry was posted in Customer service. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Corporate bullying is killing her

  1. Miriam Kondowe says:

    I was once bullied when I was working for a corporate international organisation, but I was never taken seriously by anyone. I actually entered into a crying religion in the office I used to work with two sisters during the apartheid time it was very tough. One of the sister was my supervisor she would ask her husband to come to threaten me at the office because he was a body builder. No one believed that I was saying the truth until I had to resign from the job I loved at the time. Only after I had left the very person who was bullying me started fighting with the head of Human Resources Manager only then did they believed me and it was too late because I had then resigned and got a job elsewhere event better than the job I was doing.

    My advise is that if possible get a good lawyer with the help of Human Rights Commission only then can you be helped. Do not do it alone you need a professional lawyer or person with good experience only then can you see the results.

Leave a Reply

